Set root directory for knitr

Knitr, by default, looks in the same directory as your .Rmd file to find any files you need to draw in, like data sets or script files. This proved to be a pain for me because I keep all my .R and .Rmd files in a scripts/ folder and data files in a separate folder. You cannot use setwd() with knitr, so the canonical way to do this is to include an initial code chunk:


```{r "setup", include=FALSE}
require("knitr")
opts_knit$set(root.dir = "~/gits/project/")
```

This creates an R chunk called setup which isn’t included in the knitted file. Knitr package is loaded, and root.dir is set to my the gits/project/ folder in my user area (‘~/‘). Knitr will now look for all files from this root folder rather than the folder it is stored in.

One thought on “Set root directory for knitr

Comments are closed.