Automate Hyperlinks in LibreOffice Calc

I’m in the middle of obtaining articles I’ve identified as part of literature review search. I have a large LibreOffice Calc table with bibliographic details of all the articles I’ve considered (plus a marker for whether I have excluded the article manually or not).

Having to copy and paste article titles or DOIs into Google is a bit of a chore, if I’m honest, as there are nearly 100 of them, so to automate the Google search somewhat I carried out the following steps:

  1. Copy the column of the information you’re going to search on. For example, I know I have the title for each article so I’ve taken a copy of the title column to edit.
  2. Format the copied titles into an appropriate format to pass to google. This includes removing any line breaks and spaces:
    1. To remove link breaks, select the column and Find & Replace (CTRL + H). Search for \n and replace with nothing (i.e. leave the replace field blank). Replace all.
    2. Google expects spaces linking words to be a + symbol. Again, select the entire column, press CTRL + H and search for a space character (just hit spacebar once), and replace with +. Again, replace all.
  3. To turn these formatted strings into Google hyperlinks to search, select the column again and press CTRL + H for another find and replace. Find .* and replace with =HYPERLINK("https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=&")
    1. Make sure ‘Current selection only’ and ‘Regular expressions’ are both ticked before replacing.
    2. This searches for, effectively, the entire content of each cell. This is then passed to the end of the replace string where the ‘&’ is.
  4. Each cell should now be a hyperlink that can simply be clicked, greatly reducing search time!

Sources:

2 thoughts on “Automate Hyperlinks in LibreOffice Calc

Comments are closed.