Keep Polls Simple

While doing a bit of research on the minimum price of alcohol, I stumbled across this website poll:

Cosmetic Surgery Poll

If you can’t read the screenshot, today’s poll is: “Would you ever consider plastic surgery?” This is a poor question in itself, but lets move on. Possible responses are:

  • Maybe, if it wasn’t so expensive.
  • Yes I would seriously consider it.
  • No way, I’m happy with what I have.
  • Yes but I can’t afford it.

What, exactly, is the difference between ‘maybe, if it wasn’t so expensive’ and ‘yes but I can’t afford it’? While there’s a slight difference in semantics – ‘yes but I can’t afford it’ being more decided – I doubt the average respondent is going to agonise over this. What’s wrong with:

  • Yes
  • No
  • Not sure

And if you really, really want to know why people answer the way they do, you need another question.

